Dougnut Muffins

5 Nov

Here the thing.  One of my favorite meals of the day is breakfast.  However, I almost never eat breakfast.  Correction, I almost never eat breakfast at breakfast time.  I know that it’s the “most important meal of the day,” but who has the time or energy in the morning when opening your eyes is a challenge on its own?  So when I saw these quick and easy am goody on The Pioneer Woman’s blog, I could instantly smell the warm butter and cinnamon coming from my oven.

The wonderful muffins are perfectly sweet and dense.  They remained very moist and are great simply paired with fresh fruit.  The snow is coming in at the mountain and I plan on making these again for my friends to eat during our drive up to play in the fresh powder… Enjoy 🙂

Ingredients

  • 1-¾ cup Flour
  • 1-½ teaspoon Baking Powder
  • ½ teaspoons Salt
  • ½ teaspoons Nutmeg
  • ½ teaspoons Cinnamon
  • ⅓ cups Oil
  • ¾ cups White Sugar
  • 1 whole Egg
  • ¾ cups Milk
  • 1 teaspoons Vanilla *I added this to the original recipe

Topping Ingrediants

  • ¼ cups Butter
  • ⅓ cups White Sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon Cinnamon

Directions

Mix flour, baking powder, salt, nutmeg and cinnamon in dish.

Mix oil, sugar, egg, vanilla and milk in separate large bowl.  Add dry ingredients to the wt and stir only to combine.

Bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes.

Melt the butter in a bowl and combine the white sugar with the cinnamon in another bowl.

Shake muffins out while still hot. Dip muffins in butter, then into the cinnamony sugar mix.  I really go overboard during this part:) Let the cool for a minute and enjoy.

This recipe makes 12 muffins.

 

Leave a Reply

