Apple Skillet Cake

3 Mar

Yummy apple goodness

This is one of my favorite recipes ever!  Why?  Well…I kind of have a confession to make.  I am in love with German Pancakes and Apple Crisp!  I have so much love for these two recipes that I make each of them a minimum of twice per week!  A lot of times when I come home I just want something that I know will hold me off until dinner.  We eat late.   Thank goodness I have a high metabolism and stay active:)

When I discovered this recipe in my Sunset Magazine, I immediately went to my kitchen and made the damn thing.  It was like heaven.  A giant German pancake with apples and brown sugar:)   Are you serious?  It’s so simple and yummy that I am glad I didn’t discover it before I found out about Microwave Apple Crisp (coming soon).

Ingredients

  • 3tbsp butter
  • ¼ cp packed light brown sugar
  • 1/8 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 sweet apple
  • 3 large eggs
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • ½ cp flour and milk each
  • 1 tbsp of lemon juice and powdered sugar

Directions

Preheat Oven 425

Melt butter in cast iron fry pan or oven proof dish or skillet,

add cinnamon and sugar and swirl,

add apple and cook until just starting to soften about 3 minutes

Whisk together eggs, salt, flour and milk for 2 minutes.

Pour egg mixture into pan and bake until puffed and brown- about 15 minutes. Sprinkle with lemon juice and powdered sugar.

Makes 6 delicious servings for breakfast, brunch or dessert!

3 Responses to “Apple Skillet Cake”

  1. Sanura March 4, 2010 at 12:00 am #

    YES! This is one of my favorite recipes, too!

    • shorteelan March 18, 2010 at 6:08 pm #

      Thanks. I am also going to make this in the form of a pie as well:) I will let you know how it turns out!

  2. happyrockcoffee July 25, 2012 at 5:04 pm #

    Thanks! I made this recipe for dessert last night. Turned out great!!!

Leave a Reply

