Posole

25 Feb

Posole

So guys don’t know this year since this is only my 3rd recipe posting, but I might as well confess.  The crock pot is my best friend.  The only time I don’t have to cook is, if I can show my man a crock pot recipe with simple ingredients.

I am a huge fan of any style of pulled pork.  I love how the meat can stand up well in any dish and that there are always left overs.  One of my favorite bloggers Chaos in the Kitchen had the perfect solution for my leftover pork.

Posole

serves 8, prep 10 min, cook 2 hours (or longer in crock pot), adapted from Recipezaar
  • 2 tbsp butter or bacon fat
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 jalapenos, seeded and diced
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 3 cups cooked pork, like carnitas
  • 1 cup roasted green chilies (canned or fresh), diced
  • 2 (15 oz) cans white hominy, drained and rinsed
  • 1-2 qts chicken or pork stock to cover
  1. Melt butter or fat over medium heat and add onion, garlic, jalapeno, and spices.
  2. Saute until veggies are soft.
  3. Add pork, green chilies, and hominy.
  4. Add stock to cover and simmer soup for about 2 hours or until flavors are well combined.
  5. Serve with desired garnishes.

I made this in the crockpot by sauteing the veggies then adding everything to the crock pot and cooking on low until we were all home and ready to eat (about 7 hours).  The pork is already cooked and tender so you can cook this as long or as little as you want.

This soup turned out wonderful.  The smell of this soup had my mouth watering all day long.  I would suggest making this for a big group of friends after a long day outdoors.  It also wouldn’t hurt to add a loaf of cornbread:)

Leave a Reply

