Bread machine Challah

25 Feb

Sweet Challah

Mmmm…Carbs:)  There is nothing in this world that could take carbs away from me.  Especially with the help of bread machines.  Growing up I was fortunate enough to have a wonderful teacher that picked me and a few other students to carpool.  The best thing about our rides is that they consisted of day old and sometimes fresh goodies from her husbands bakery called Gabriel’s Bakery. This is a very popular Portland bakery that can be found at our famous farmers market downtown.  Their scones and breads have wonderful earthy flavors that scream Portland.  My favorite bread of theirs is the light and sweet tasting challah:)

One night while I was drooling over the thought of french toast and challah, I came up with a solution to the puddle on my shirt.  I was going to make a challah loaf in my bread machine that night and make some french toast for breakfeast.

But there was one problem…

The bread was so yummy when I sliced a thick piece off and slabbed it with butter, that my boyfriend and I ate 75% of the loaf that night!!  So no french toast for us:)

Bread Machine Challah

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 tablespoons margarine
  • 3 cups bread flour
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons active dry yeast

Directions

  1. Add ingredients to the pan of the bread machine in the order suggested by the manufacturer.
  2. Select Basic Bread and Light Crust settings. Start.
2 Responses to “Bread machine Challah”

  1. christine September 10, 2010 at 3:07 pm #

    Hello Elan! I found this blog in Foodista and followed it here. This is a actually cool Sweet Challah recipe. Keep it up and I may see you on Food Network one day. By the way, did you know you can place more Foodista widget? A friend of mine placed proper Foodista widget at the end of her latest blogs and the numbers of her readers increased. Interesting isn’t it?

  2. Jackson February 9, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

    Thanks for sharing good knowledge.

Leave a Reply

