Honey Corn Dog Bites with Garlicky Parmesan Fries

23 Jan

Can we say "yummy in da tummy!"

If you have kids or a man, this is the recipe for you!  And for caloric purposes, the corn dogs can be baked or fried.

I am personally a huge fan of convenience food.  There is nothing better than a night out and then coming home with your friends and continuing the party at your pad.  And if your freezer is stocked with what I call “freezer eats,” then you should be able to pull out at least one of the following to satisfy your friends and help soak up the booze:

A frozen pizza, burritos, taquitos, bread,  fries, jalapeno poppers, cookie dough, and corn dogs.

And if you don’t have at least one of the listed items, then I highly suggest you start cleaning up your place so that your friend’s will feel welcome to come over and eat:)  And while your at it re-evaluate your budget, because eating out all the time sucks and its expensive.  But coming home with a buzz and no food even sucks worse!

That is why my first recipe post on this blog will be my boyfriend’s and my favorite, corn dogs!  He seriously survives on these when I leave town:)  We love the crispy sweet outer dough and of course the dog inside.  The convience of taking a few out of the freezer and popping them on a baking sheet with a hand full of fries is wonderful.  However, until the economy took its grip on my food budget, I never realized how expensive my favorite box of corn dogs were.  Eight bucks for some dogs and dough didn’t settle right in my belly or on my budget.  So instead, I bought some really good beef dogs that were on sale for $2.00 and came in an eight pack.  And I knew I had some boxes of Jiffy at home as a back up to use if I didn’t have enough cornmeal.  So that night I got home, made some batter, heated my oven and a pot with oil to make the best corn dogs I have ever had!

And here’s how:

I was having a very hard decision deciding whether I wanted to baked the bites and make them healthier or fry them the good ol’ fashioned way.  I couldn’t make up my mind so I did both to see which I would like the taste of better.  The verdict is below:)  My hypothesis was that I would like the baked ones better since I am not a fan of fired foods and the smell of the oil hanging out in my kitchen for a while turns my stomach.

For the batter (adapted from Martha Stewart’s baked dog batter):

3 cups all-purpose flour (spooned and leveled), plus more for dusting sausage

1 1/3 cup yellow cornmeal

4 teaspoons baking powder

2 teaspoons sugar

3 tablespoons honey

1 teaspoons Coarse salt and ground pepper

1 teaspoon cayenne pepper (optional)

2 cups of milk

4 large eggs, lightly beaten

4 teaspoons vegetable oil

8 precooked smoked sausages or dogs of your choice

Ketchup and mustard, for serving (optional)

*If you don’t have these items but have a couple boxes of Jiffy Cornbread, this can be your batter.  But remember to make the batter thick so it can stick.

Directions for baking:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper; set aside. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, cornmeal, baking powder, sugar, 1 teaspoon salt, and 1 teaspoon cayenne and black pepper. Add eggs and oil. Slowly add half of milk to batter and blend. Then slowly add enough milk until batter is like a very thick pancake batter. Mix just until combined.

Take your dogs out of the packaging and slice into any desired size. The smaller your pieces the more bites you get.  Since I was baking this batch and had bun length dogs I decided to keep these a bit longer and cut the dogs into thirds.  That’s 24 dogs from an 8 pack.  Dust with flour; tap off excess. Using handle, rotate each sausage over bowl as you spoon batter to coat evenly. Place on sheet; bake 5 minutes. Remove from oven. Using a spatula, reapply batter that has slipped on to the sheet. Return to oven; bake until golden, 20 minutes. Serve with ketchup and mustard, if desired.

baked dogs

Directions for frying:

Fill a heavy pot or deep skillet with an about an ich and a half of vegetable oil.  Heat until 375 degrees.  Since I am not using a deep fryer and not using sticks I decided to keep my hot dog pieces small.  You can get about 8 pieces from most lengths of dogs.  Gives these pieces a light dusting of flour so that the batter can stick.  I like to dump my cut up dogs in the batter and then fish them out with a spoon to be placed in the hot oil. Place a few pieces in your oil and quickly turn these as they will take about a minute or less to brown.  Place on paper towel to cool. *If you are having trouble getting the batter to stick, place the dogs in the oil for a several seconds and take them out to cool for a minute.  Now reapply more batter and finish up the fry.

Freezer Instructions:

Allow corn dogs to cool to room temperature then place on a baking sheet and freeze.  Once they are fully frozen, put them into freezer bags.  Reheat them at 400°F in the oven for about 15-20 min.  Serve with ketchup and mustard, an enjoy.

The verdict of bake vs. fry:

To be honest I love each of them differently.  The baked dogs taste like a baked corn bread roll, with a dog and kept a healthier flavor without the oil.  But there is nothing like the crispy taste of the sweet fried corn dough that comes with oil.  So my choice would be the bad one, of course:)  Enjoy!

And what about those Garlicky baked Parmesan fries?  The recipe is an adaptation from The Purple Foodie that is to die for.  But I have decided to save that for the next posting, as the fries do in fact stand-alone.

The best fries ever!

Leave a Reply

